France Indo-Pacific

France in the Indo-Pacific

France is the only EU member to have territories in both the Indian and Pacific oceans. As a result, France is an Indo-Pacific power.

Freedom of navigation, the rule of law, regional stability, free trade and connectivity constitute some prerequisites for the development of French overseas territories.

The Indo-Pacific strategy will accelerate the projects conducted by France in the region and create more ties between French overseas territories and Indo-Pacific nations. 

Overseas France in Indo-Pacific

  • Home of 1.65 million nationals
  • 92% of the French Economic Exclusive Zone (9.603.000 km²)
  • 7,000 permanent prepositioned French troops

Reunion Island

Reunion Island is a French overseas department and region. It is part of the Eurozone and is an outmost region of the European Union. It is located in the Western Indian ocean, 175 km southwest of Mauritius.

With 873,000 inhabitants is the most populated French overseas territory.

Reunion Island’s economy mainly relies on agriculture, tourism and services (banking, finance), and offers many opportunities in the agrifood sector. New projects are developed in green energy.  


Mayotte is a French overseas department and region. It is part of the Eurozone and is an outmost region of the European Union.

Located in the Indian ocean, between Madagascar, Comoros, Mozambique, it consists of two major islands Grande-Terre and Petite-Terre with a population of around 289,000 inhabitants.

Mayotte’s economy is primarily based on fishing, agriculture and tourism. It is also home of Mayotte Marine Nature Park.

New Caledonia

New Caledonia is a sui generis French overseas collectivity. Three referenda (the last one held in December 2021) confirmed the French status of New Caledonia.  

 It has the largest land area among French overseas territories in Indo-Pacific with 18,576 km2.  The archipelago is home to 280,000 people.

New Caledonia has large resources of nickel. Mining is a major economic activity in the island, although authorities are promoting diversification.

Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna is a  French overseas collectivity in the South Pacific ocean located between Fiji and Samoa. It consists of three main islands Wallis, Futuna and Alofi, with 12,000 residents. Its Polynesian culture has long been preserved.

This territory offers a unique biodiversity. Tourism is limited in Wallis and Futuna and its inhabitants works mainly in agriculture, fishing or state administration.

French Polynesia

French Polynesia is a French overseas collectivity, and overseas country in the South Pacific ocean. It enjoys a high degree of autonomy.

French Polynesia consists of 5 groups of islands (the Society Islands archipelago, the Tuamotu Archipelago, the Gambier Islands the Marquesas Islands and the Austral Islands) where live 282,000 people.

Tourism is the main driver of the economy. Fishing and agriculture are two important economic sectors. French Polynesia is looking for diversifying its economy without disrupting its environment.

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands consists of uninhabited islands and territories in the Southern Indian and South Pacific oceans. It is divided in 5 districts:  Crozet Islands, Kerguelen Islands, Saint Paul and Amsterdam Islands, the Scattered Islands and Adelie Land, the French claim on the continent of Antarctica.

The territory covers an area of about 440,000 km2. They are home to several research stations and scientific facilities.

Clipperton island

Clipperton is 1,080 km from Mexican coasts, this atoll has no permanent inhabitants.
Clipperton shows no natural resources, but polymetallic nodules can be found in the EEZ.


  • EU outermost region
  • French department
  • Population: 289,000 inhabitants
  • Area : 374 km²
  • EEZ : 63,078 km²
  • French Armed Forces


  • EU outermost region
  • French Department
  • Population : 873,000 inhabitants
  • Area : 2,512 km²
  • EEZ : 315,058 km²
  • French Armed Forces

Scattered Islands

  • French Southern and Antarctic Lands
  • Uninhabited
  • Area: 44 km²
  • EEZ: 640,400 km²

Kerguelen Islands

  • French Southern and Antarctic Lands

  • uninhabited
  • Area 7,215 km²
  • EEZ: 563,869 km²

Crozet Islands

  • French Southern and Antarctic Lands
  • uninhabited
  • Area: 352 km²
  • EEZ: 567,475 km²

Saint Paul and Saint Amsterdam Islands

  • French Southern and Antarctic Lands

  • uninhabited

  • Area: 66 km²

  • EEZ: 502,533 km²

New Caledonia

  • sui generis collectivity
  • Population: 280,000 inhabitants
  • Area: 18,575 km²
  • EEZ : 1,422,596 km²
  • French Armed Forces

Wallis and Futuna

  • Overseas collectivity
  • Population: 12,000 inhabitants
  • Area: 124 km²
  • EEZ: 258,269 km²

French Polynesia

  • overseas collectivity and country
  • Population : 282,000 inhabitants
  • Area : 4,167 km²
  • EEZ : 4,771,000 km²
  • French Armed Forces

Clipperton island

  • Special status 
  • uninhabited
  • Area : 6 km²
  • EEZ : 432,263 km²